Switching Business UnitΒΆ

A Business Unit, also called BU, is the main security boundary of the system. All users and sources of the DW application such as Layouts are part of a specific BU. For more info about Business Units see Business Units chapter in administrator application guide.

A user can see only things, that belongs to his BU. If user is a member of multiple BUs, only one can be accessed at once. The active BU can be changed in two ways:

  1. In the Switch Business Unit dialog, accessible from the Application Menu. For more info about Application Menu see Application Menu chapter.

    Figure 1: Switch Business Unit Button

    ../_images/switching-business-unit-1.png

    Figure 2: Switch Business Unit Dialog

    ../_images/switching-business-unit-1a.png
  2. In the Business Unit dropdown on the left side of the toolbar.

    Figure 3: Switch Business Unit dropdown in Toolbar

    ../_images/switching-business-unit-2.png

    Figure 4: Switch Business Unit dropdown in Toolbar

    ../_images/switching-business-unit-2a.png

The last selected Business Unit is remembered even after closing and reopening the browser.

The Switch Business Unit dialog contains a dropdown, listing all BUs, the user is part of. Selecting a BU and clicking the switch button will change the active Business Unit.

Switching a Business Unit when viewing a Layout will navigate to the Layout list.